M.Sc Physics Program

About The Program

The program is structured to enable the students to improve their intellectual and laboratory skills. The program emphasizes the development for industrial applications and to pursue academic research.

    • Pass in B.Sc. (Non Med), with minimum 50% aggregate marks.
    • Two years (Four semesters)
    • The M.Sc. program covered in four semesters spread over two years. Students are also required to undergo Dissertation / Project in second year.
    • For graduates who wish to specialize in a particular area of science, the University offers Master of Science program in three subjects with specialization in respective fields.

    Final year graduate students awaiting results are also eligible to apply.

    M.Sc Physics Program Structure
    Year I Semester - I Semester - II
    • Mathematical Physics
    • Classical Mechanics
    • Quantum Mechanics I
    • Electromagnetic Theory
    • Physics Laboratory I
    • Seminar-I
    • Quantum Mechanics II
    • Statistical Mechanics
    • Computational Physics
    • Electronics
    • Optics & Photonics
    • Physics Laboratory II
    Year II Semester - III Semester - IV
    • Condensed Matter Physics
    • Nuclear & Particle Physics
    • Applied Optics
    • Atomic and Molecular Physics
    • Physics Laboratory III
    • Minor Project
    • Nuclear & Particle Physics
    • Quantum Field Theory
    • Advanced Condensed Matter Physics
    • Laser Physics
    • Physics Laboratory-IV
    • Major Project
    The program structure is subject to change (if required)